Management Team

Mossman Botanic Garden Inc. is currently managed by a locally based non-profit organisation.  The MBG also has a trading name Botanic Garden Mossman.  

In late August 2017, the Management Committee appointed Dr Russell Joshua as CEO. Dr Joshua brings a wealth of experience and networks to the Garden team having worked for large financial institutions in Australia and off-shore, as well as small, high growth technology firms and in government. Most recently Dr Joshua was the international director at James Cook University. Dr Joshua is passionate about botany, regional development and the rainforests of Queensland’s wet tropics being a resident of the Daintree and actively involved in the work of the Australian Tropical Herbarium.


Building off the foundation master plan for the Garden, over the year ahead Dr Russell will be working with the Board, members and external stakeholders to complete the Garden planning, governance, and management, operational and financial arrangements to secure the initial capital funds to commence construction of the Garden.

At this time, the Management Committee comprises of:

  • Dr. Russell Joshua (CEO)
  • John Sullivan - Chair (Hortulus)
  • Roy Weavers - Vice Chair (Owner Mossman Print)
  • Peter McKeown - Treasurer (Owner Temptations Cafe)
  • Heather Carle - Secretary (local Tourism Professional)
  • John Anich (local Cane farmer)
  • Tony Woodall (Owner Shannonvale Tropical Winery)
  • Simon Towle (James Cook University)
  • John Hartley (Eastern Kuku Yalanji Bama)
  • Nathan Clarke (local Business owner)

As the Garden evolves there will be Board changes that cater for a broad range of professional skill sets and fund raising capacities. MBG in heading towards a fully funded world class attraction that will bring destination travellers from around the world. It remains, however, a garden that belongs to the community.


A successful application to the Douglas Shire Council for a Business Development Grant launched the Mossman Botanic Garden ‘Stage 3: membership, governance and business development’ in April, 2018.   Rebecca Pearse (MBG Project Manager) and Sheryl Burchill (Eastern Kuku Yalanji Bama) are employed one day a week to work with the Board to drive the Membership Strategy, assist with ensuring representation and appropriate skills on the Board, whilst developing the Business Development Strategy.

Key Stakeholders

  • Australian Tropical Herbarium
  • James Cook University
  • Flecker Botanical Garden / Cairns
  • Jabalbina Yalanji Land Trust
  • Kuku Yalanji Members
  • The Botanical Ark / Mossman
  • Wet Tropics Management Authority
  • Terrain Natural Resource Management Group
  • Reef and Rainforest Research Centre
  • Regional Development Australia


  • Hon.Warren Entsch (Federal Minister for Leichhardt)
  • Hon. Jan Mc Lucas (Federal Senator for Qld.)
  • Hon. Bob Katter (Federal Member for Kennedy)
  • Major Douglas Shire Julia Leu
  • Mossman Gorge Centre
  • Prof. Darryn Crane (Director of the Australian Tropical Herbarium)
  • ANZ & NAB, Mossman
  • Chamber of Commerce / Port Douglas
  • Tourism Port Douglas Daintree
  • SkyRail / Cairns


The inaugural staff requirements for the MBG comprise of:

  • Chair/CEO 
  • Project Manager
  • Biosecurity Manager 
  • Curator of Collections
  • Head Gardener
  • Garden Maintenance Staff
  • Legal and Compliance Officer
  • Biosecurity Staff
  • Maintenance Staff
  • Interpretive Officer
  • Office and Administration Staff
  • Cultural and Historical Collections Officer